This project is read-only.

Building an API with Linq to LDAP to support multiple ADs?

Nov 17, 2011 at 7:54 PM
Edited Nov 17, 2011 at 8:02 PM

Hi Madhatter, excellent work on this project, it's great. Two questions for you:

1) Typically when I work through AD's DirectoryEntry I do like so: new DirectoryEntry("LDAP://ldap.mydomain.com/dc=mydomain,dc=com");

Is my server name ldap.mydomain.com or the entire thing or just mydomain.com? Also is that a FQDN? I am still somewhat new to AD/DNS things myself so wasn't sure what is considered what for AD.

2) I am trying to write an API using Linq to LDAP that needs to support multiple ADs. Basically we have 3 ADs and depending on who uses the API they'll need to use a different domain and OU/CNs. There would even be cases where one project would need to reference 2 ADs. We'll use the same mappings across all ADs regardless of which one is used though. Since this API would be a referenced assembly in their projects, I am unsure how to go about using this still, it seems like all mapping must include a naming context, which would change. It looks like to support that I would need to set the LDAP configuration and connection in the referencing project, but I am trying to abstract all that to easy service method calls.

Can you recommend an approach for doing that?

Nov 21, 2011 at 4:40 AM
Edited Nov 21, 2011 at 5:26 AM

Hi sah302,

1) In my experience mydomain.com is sufficient with AD.  The Locator service will find an available directory server for you.  The fully qualified name would be the actual name of the directory server.